top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrigitte Demba

My Berry Affair

Updated: Sep 26, 2022

Chase those Monday blues with some Blueberries.


Photo by veeterzy on Unsplash


The first time I had a blueberry muffin was actually in a restaurant as I was waiting to meet a client, I am one of those if you’re on time, you’re already late kind of people, not to toot my own trumpet but 🎺🎺!


I ordered a Vanilla Latte and had no idea what I wanted as an accompaniment. I’m a lover of all things pastries and adventurous by nature, hence I took a wild dive into the Menu placed before me and the blueberry muffin caught my eye and that’s how we met.


The meeting with the client went great by the way, I sealed the deal and got the contract and that was the beginning of a very beautiful friendship. What I thought was going to be a sad gloomy Monday turned out to be the day I fell in love with blueberry muffins! I struggle to ignore them every time I walk by a bakery or a pastry shop. I can almost hear them beckoning.


So now when someone says they are having Monday blues I always recommend Coffee from Kesh Kesh and some blueberry muffins from The Gastronome its the perfect breakfast option to go, or even for just an evening coffee date. So in my curious blueberry muffin adventure, I got curious about blueberries, why they are so awesome, and why so tasty. Our relationship got a bit possessive because.



I wanted to know everything I could about them so I dug up some information about blueberries. Below are my findings.


Place of origin - North America. To think that she sailed several seas just to find her way on my plate in Africa. Her other name is Star Fruit because of the five-pointed star shape that is formed at the blossom end of the berry. That is what her natives would call her.


The blueberries have a preferred climate where they thrive which is in humid, Northern climates that have mild chills, mild summers, and low PH or acidic soils. Well, our differences are obvious even from her origin so you can understand why I needed to find out more. before you gauge any negative side of something or someone it is only fair to give them a fighting chance so let us look at all that blueberry was bringing to the table.

Did you know that blueberries can be used as a natural food dye, this should be a fun experiment.

BENEFITS OF BLUEBERRIES
  1. They are low in calories but high in nutrients (fibre, vitamin C, and vitamin K).

  2. Blueberries have the highest antioxidant capacity of all the popular fruits and vegetables.

  3. Several studies suggest that blueberries reduce DNA damage, which is a leading driver of ageing and cancer.

  4. The antioxidants in blueberries have been shown to reduce a predominant risk factor for heart disease by preventing oxidative damage to bad cholesterol.

  5. Regular intake of blueberries is tied to lower blood pressure in numerous studies.

  6. Blueberries are rich in anthocyanins which reduce the risk of heart attacks.

  7. Some antioxidants in blueberries seem to benefit the brain by aiding brain function and delaying mental declines.

  8. Several studies demonstrate that blueberries have anti-diabetes effects improving insulin sensitivity and lowering blood sugar levels.

  9. They contain substances that can prevent certain bacteria from binding to the wall of the bladder which may help prevent UTIs.

  10. They may aid muscle recovery after strenuous exercises.


DISADVANTAGES OF BLUEBERRIES
  1. They can affect blood sugar levels for diabetic people.

  2. They can make it difficult to control glucose levels before and after surgery.

  3. They may have pesticides.

  4. Large intakes may cause muscle problems.

So if I was to compile a pros and cons list. Her benefits would outweigh her flaws, so my curiosity only proved that she is truly the love of my life and changed all my Monday blues to Monday’s blooms. The research also made me fall in love with her more and more and hence I would like to share her with you. How about you grab some blueberries on your next trip to the grocery store and see why I love her so much a bonus includes her various uses in the kitchen other than just baking.


Put it to use:

  • Dried blueberries were added to stews, soups, and meats.

  • Dried berries were also crushed into a powder and rubbed into meat for flavour.

  • Blueberry juice was used to cure coughs.

  • Blueberry juice was also used as a purple dye for cloth and baskets.

  • A tea made from the leaves of the blueberry plant was believed to be good for the blood.

Beware of blueberry frauds: And then here comes the twist, many blueberry flavored foods don't even have any blueberries in them but just artificial flavors, dye and refined sugars. So if you want to benefit from the nutrients blueberries give just go out there and get some and eat them fresh or dried.

Also in case, you feel that only meeting up with her in the grocery store is not enough for you, how about trying to have her in your backyard or farm.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page